The Comox Valley Kickers RFC celebrated the incredible 2022/2023 rugby season as they came together this past Saturday for the highly anticipated year-end awards banquet, hosted at the lively Beaufort Ave Pub.

With over 60 attendees, the evening was a delightful blend of camaraderie, delicious food, heartfelt speeches, and memorable entertainment. The event kicked off with a splendid musical performance by the men’s team rookies, who captivated the audience with their rendition of “Can You Feel the Love Tonight” from the Lion King. The enchanting melody set the perfect tone for an evening filled with celebration and appreciation.

Amidst the cheerful ambiance, the main highlight of the night was the prestigious awards ceremony. The deserving athletes who had displayed outstanding performance and dedication throughout the season were honored with well-deserved accolades.

Kickers Women’s Award Winners:

MVP: Natalie Nguyen
Back of the Year: Tyra Schaad
Forward of the Year: Dara DeMarce
Rookie of the Year: Jess Nikkel
Most Improved: Kaitlyn Hazelman
Most Tenacious: Audrey Jones
Most Sportsmanlike: Lauren Sargent
Coach’s Award: Chloe Speed

Kickers Men’s Award Winners:

MVP: Brandon Hudson
Back of the Year: Devon Moore
Forward of the Year: Derek McCubbin
Rookie of the Year: Nate Bice
Most Improved: Raffael Tonazzi
Most Tenacious: Joe Hurst
Most Sportsmanlike: Riley Gaudet
Coach’s Award: Justin Thomson

A riveting performance of the haka was done by Tosh Wilmott and Jim Robertson honoring JB Nikkel for his outstanding contribution to the club.

As the evening progressed, the air was filled with shared stories, laughter, and reminiscence of the unforgettable moments that made the season truly special. It was a fun evening had by all and we look forward to the 2023-2024 rugby season.